YFC Members Show off their Rural Skills

25 Press Release 2017

Wales YFC held a successful Field Day on Saturday 29th April at Anglesey Showground, hosted by Ynys Môn YFC.

The event was sponsored by Alun Griffiths Contractors Ltd and many local businesses supported the event by loaning their stock and machinery for the various competitions. Wales YFC also owes the success of the day to the judges and stewards who gave their time to assist with the event.

Throughout the day young people from across Wales took part in competitions which retain close links with the agricultural industry and rural skills such as the fence erecting and stock judging.

Katie Davies, Wales YFC’s Competitions Committee Chairman said; “The Wales YFC Field Day showcases the very best of the organisation’s core agricultural competitions, teaching members how to select the animals that best suit the market, as well as how to maintain machinery to their best with an importance on health and safety. Once again the standard was very high. Congratulations to all members and thanks to Alun Griffiths for sponsoring this event, and also to all of our corporate sponsors for their continued support towards the federation - without their help it would not be possible for our members to compete at this level."

Full list of results

Junior Fencing sponsored by ArcelorMittal
1st – Ceredigion (Rhodri Griffiths, Brychan Lewis, Dafydd Davies)
2nd – Montgomery
3rd – Pembrokeshire

Senior Fencing sponsored by ArcelorMittal
1st – Pembrokeshire (Christopher Davies, Rhydian Williams, Daniel Phillips) (Brian Llewelyn Trophy)
2nd – Montgomery
3rd – Ceredigion

Efficiency with Safety
1st – Pembrokeshire (Caryl Bevan, Rhys Bevan, Berwyn Warlow, Alistair Lawrence) (Col. J.J. Davis Challenge Cup)
2nd – Radnor
3rd – Montgomery
Best individual in the First Aid task: Caryl Bevan, Pembrokeshire (Sir Lynne Thomas Shield & Crystal Bowl)

Junior Nature Trail
1st – Ceredigion (Rhiannon Jones & Megan Herberts)
2nd – Pembrokeshire
3rd – Radnor

Senior Stockman of the Year
1st – Pembrokeshire (Georgie Radmore, Rhydian Bevan, Llinos Ford, Rhys Griffiths) (Tlws Elwyn Griffiths Trophy)
2nd – Ceredigion
3rd – Gwent

Best individual
1st – Georgie Radmore, Pembrokeshire (Tlws Castellor Trophy)
2nd – Rhys Cooke, Gwent
3rd – Elizabeth Harries, Ceredigion

Junior Stockman of the Year
1st – Carmarthenshire (Ifan Williams, Iwan Thomas, Aaron Hughes, Aled Davies) (Tlws Coffa Tom Evans Memorial Trophy)
2nd – Radnor
3rd – Gwent

Best individual
1st – Dafydd Wyn Jones, Clwyd (Tarian Tracy Jones Shield)
2nd – Aaron Hughes, Carmarthenshire
3rd – Caitlin Jones, Ynys Môn

Cube Exhibit
1st – Carmarthenshire
2nd – Ceredigion
=3rd – Gwent
=3rd – Ynys Môn

Overall Winning Federation
1st – Pembrokeshire
2nd – Ceredigion
3rd – Radnor

For more information please contact Wales YFC on 01982 553 502.